50 Projects In 50 Days - HTML, CSS & JavaScript

Course img

50 Projects In 50 Days - HTML, CSS & JavaScript

Post last updated: February 22, 2024

Why did it take this course?

I decided to take this course, right after I finish my first Javascript course. At that time I feel that even though I know some good things about Javascript I did not know how to start applying them in my projects.

I wanted to see how javascript was being used in different projects and situations and also to get some inspiration and ideas.

So the title of this course was the first thing that took my attention, because it sounds exactly what I was looking for.

About the course

Sharpen your skills by building 50 quick, unique & fun mini projects, is the description of this course, created by Brad Traversy and Florin Pop.

The idea of this course is simple but really nice, 50 projects that you can do in 50 days. Most of the projects are shorts less than 15 min and some of them are longer than 30 min.

More than 30,000 people had taken this course and it was 4.6 points over more than 5000 reviews. So I thought it was going to be a really nice course to take.

But it turned out to be the worst course I have taken in Udemy and I will tell you why at the end.

What you will learn

According to the teachers, this is what you will learn

  • Project-based teaching to sharpen your HTML, CSS & JavaScript skills.

  • Perfect for beginners looking for things to build unique projects in a short timeframe.

  • Modern styling with flexbox, CSS animations, custom properties, etc.

  • DOM manipulation, events, array methods, HTTP requests & more.

Prerequisite

A very basic understanding of HTML, CSS & JavaScript.

Course content and Course Projects

This course is divided into 51 sections with a total of 164 lessons and a total duration of more than 18 hours.

The followings are the 50 projects:

  • Expanding Cards
  • Progress Steps
  • Rotating Navigation Animation
  • Hidden Search Widget
  • Blurry Loading
  • Scroll Animation
  • Split Landing Page
  • Form Wave
  • Sound Board
  • Dad Jokes
  • Event Keycodes
  • Faq Collapse
  • Random Choice Picker
  • Animated Navigation
  • Incrementing Counter
  • Drink Water
  • Movie App
  • Background Slider
  • Theme Clock
  • Button Ripple Effect
  • Drag N Drop
  • Drawing App
  • Kinetic Loader
  • Content Placeholder
  • Sticky Navbar
  • Double Vertical Slider
  • Toast Notification
  • Github Profiles
  • Double Click Heart
  • Auto Text Effect
  • Password Generator
  • Good Cheap Fast
  • Notes App
  • Animated Countdown
  • Image Carousel
  • Hoverboard
  • Pokedex
  • Mobile Tab Navigation
  • Password Strength Background
  • 3d Background Boxes
  • Verify Account UI
  • Live User Filter
  • Feedback UI Design
  • Custom Range Slider
  • Netflix Mobile Navigation
  • Quiz App
  • Testimonial Box Switcher
  • Random Image Feed
  • Todo List
  • Insect Catch Game

My thought about this course

Basically, I did not like it. Almost from the beginning. The projects are really awesome which I believe they are created by Florin. All projects are fun, simple but really useful.

The thing I really did not like was about the person teaching the course, Brad Traversy. I did not have any expectation to learn javascript in this course, I just wanted to see how it was used, where, and how in other projects and situations.

But even though I had low expectations, what I did not like was the way he explains everything, it was so fast and with no intention of people to learn or understand what he was doing. I feel all the time he was in a hurry to finish the current lesson to move to the next one and then finish the entire course as soon as he can.

So basically you are just watching a guy, writing a code that probably he has in front of him already and redacting very fast what he is doing. The worst part is what sometimes he just copy and paste a chunk of code and did not explain much about it. How hard could it be to write those lines of code instead of telling us that we can also copy them from some particular website?

I understand that happens all the time when you are coding, but if you are taking a course, it should be different, you shouldn’t have to open another tab to go and search that page or pause the video and copy all those lines. I thought that was too much.

So I did not finish the course, I tried but it was so demotivating. I think I completed more than 30 projects.

I have used some of the things I learned in this course in my own projects but overall, I think the course was a waste of time and I would not recommend it to anyone.