My new portfolio - blog website

Home page img

My new portfolio - blog website

Post last updated: February 22, 2024

My new portfolio - blog website

Welcome to my new portfolio website, where I plan to show all my projects but also where I will be blogging about courses and general stuff about web development.

One of my ideas is to create a new portfolio every time I learn about a new framework and since for the last month I have been learning vue.js and Nuxt.js I decided it was a created chance to create this website.

My previous portfolio is a very simple website I created with very little HTML&CSS and JavaScript, I did not put a really big effort into it, because at that time I just wanted to have all my projects in one single place. So it could be easy for me to take a look at them about also to share with my family and friends.

I was not meant to be the portfolio that was going to land my first job as a web developer, but funny enough I got my first job as a junior front developer because of this portfolio.

Why Nuxt?

In the beginning, I was going to build it just using Vue but then I learned about Nuxt all the nice things you can do with it, place how it makes so things easy compare to vue.js which is already really easy to use.

So the main goal was to create a portfolio where I could show all my projects.

My own API

The first thing I did was to create my API using Airtable and Netlify serverless functions.

So after that, I could start fetching information about my projects in my new portfolio, I wanted it to be that way because in this way I just need to update my Airtable table every time I create a new project. Because previously I had to manually update my portfolio every time I created my next project. It was not a big deal but I wanted it even more simple.

So the best thing about this setup is that even if one day I stop using this portfolio because I create a new one I could still fetch my projects from the same place and this website will also be updated as long as I update my Airtable table. Another great thing is that now my previous portfolio is also fetching all my projects from this API, now I don’t need to do any maintenance anymore.

My blog

I like blogging, it is so nice to write and document what you do or like. But blogging takes time so I have never been the blogger I always wanted to be. So, I thought it could be a great chance to start a new blog adventure where I can write about my life as a web developer and also I can practice writing in English which is not that my first language as you may notice.

Write now the main goal of this blog is to write about some of the courses I have been talking in Udemy or some nice youtube tutorials and courses I had taken. I was not white sure how I can integrate a blog into this website, the first thing I thought was about a headless CMS, Strapi. But then I discover Nuxt Content.

At first, I thought I was too complicated, because it is, in fact, a little bit confusing in the beginning. But I found Nuxt content documentation very clear and the most important thing I found was some amazing posts from O'Brien, where you can read step by step what to do I want the result to expect. She also has some nice tutorials on youtube about Nuxt content and a lot of other things related to Nuxt.

Wrap up

So this is more a less the story behind this website. I did not put a lot of effort into styling because it is no the main purpose of this project. But I added a couple of things I learned thin a very nice Udemy course call Creative Advanced CSS Animations - Create 100 Projects!.

I hope you like it, as much I do, and stick around to read my blog too!